Hanuman Jayanti

Sri HanumanjiHanuman Jayanti is Hanumanji's birthday and falls on Chaitra Shukla Purnima (the March-April full moon day). On this holy day worship Sri Hanuman. Fast on this day. Read the Hanuman Chalisa. Spend the whole day in the Japa of Ram-Nam. Sri Hanuman will be highly pleased and will bless you with success in all your undertakings.

Sri Hanuman is worshipped all over India-either alone or together with Sri Rama. Every temple of Sri Rama has the murti or idol of Sri Hanuman. Hanuman is the Avatara of Lord Shiva. He was born of the Wind-God and Anjani Devi. His other names are Pavanasuta, Marutsuta, Pavankumar, Bajrangabali and Mahavira.

He is the living embodiment of Ram-Nam. He was an ideal selfless worker, a true Karma Yogi who worked desirelessly and dynamically. He was a great devotee and an exceptional Brahmachari or celibate. He served Sri Rama with pure love and devotion, without expecting any fruit in return. He lived to serve Sri Rama.

Guru Purnima

Maharajiqus Murti Akbakpur bhandara 12-19-04Regarding Guru Purnima

The Guru in the Hindu tradition is looked upon as an embodiment of God himself.

For, it is through his grace and guidance that one reaches the highest state of wisdom and bliss.

"My salutations to the Guru who is Brahma, Vishnu and Maheswara.

The Guru is Parabrahma incarnate".

Gururbrahmaa gururvishnuh gururdevo Maheswarah |
Guruh-saakshaat parabrahma tasmai shrigurave namah ||

The annual function of Sri Guru Pooja presents a moment of introspection for us to check up how far we have progressed in this path over the last one year, and take lessons from it and resolve to march faster in the current year.

From: tajonline.com

Navratri Means Nine Nights in Sanskrit


Navratri (Sanskrit:नवरात्रि) is a Hindu festival of worship and dance. It is the largest festival of Nepal.

The word Navaratri literally means nine nights in Sanskrit; Nava - Nine and Ratri - nights. During these nine days and nights, nine forms of Shakti i.e. female divinity are worshipped.

Forms of Shakti

The following 9 forms of goddesses are worshipped during these nine days:* Durga,
* Bhadrakali,
* Amba or Jagadamba,
* Annapurna,
* Sarvamangala,
* Bhairavi,
* Chandika or Chandi,
* Lalita and
* Bhavani.